Don’t Move So Fast

I read an interesting article the other day about mistakes that bloggers MUST stop making. And then I realized that I have a lot of work to do.

One of the things that stuck out to me when I was reading that article was the fact that every blogger tries to write something “epic” every time. Just then, a light bulb went off in my head.

I cannot tell you the numerous times I have started a blog. For the first month, I am excited yet very disciplined. Unfortunately, life calls, and I put writing on the back burner. Either I don’t have time to write or I feel discouraged because I have nothing “epic” to write about.

This article pointed out that it is important to write often, even if it doesn’t meet “epic” standards. Ah ha! There’s my problem. I constantly pressured my self to write something amazing that everyone will love and became discouraged when I had writer’s block.

As the new year approaches, it’s time for creating new goals, and my hope is that I will get back into blogging. I’m about to start on a grand adventure and I want to make sure I can document it. Hopefully, I will find the time to write every day. I want to be able to document what I learn and share those lessons with others. I also want to remember everything, or at least try to.

The trick to this thing – writing epically – is that not every single thing that you write needs to be posted. Yes. Try to hold yourself from clicking publish. I know that I could very well not publish this post, but I know that I will, simply because I haven’t posted in months and that I feel I had a tiny epitome about my writing.

I want to grow as a writer. I want to expand my imagination. I want words to flow out of my fingers with ease. I don’t want to hesitate when I have to write a press release or a pitch. I want to be able to sit down, have an idea, and write. I believe this will only come easier with the more than write. So, no matter how terrible or epic one of my blog posts may be, I shall continue to write.

Practice doesn’t make perfect.

Perfect practice makes perfection.

Leave a comment