Is Public Relations Overrated?

Today, I read on prdaily.com that public relations has been ranked as the seventh most overrated career for 2012.

Let’s examine why:

  • It’s highly stressful because of the constant demands of the media, clients, and audiences
  • Ranked number 15 on most common college degrees according to payscale.com
  • The pool of job candidates is increasing rapidly

These statements simply do not mean anything to me. Why? Because I study public relations because I am high-strung, over-worked, and can manage immense amounts of stress. What else? As stated in one of my earlier posts, I love everything PR. I love the hustle and bustle, the deadlines, networking, and most importantly I enjoy writing.

In my opinion there are two types of people who join the public relations field. There are the people who are extremely dedicated to their work and are going to rise to the top. The latter group is simply those who are in it for the perceived “glamorous” lifestyle that really isn’t anything close to Sex and the City.

As a college student, I can pick out which students are serious and the ones who will get it together once they graduate. I’m not saying they can’t handle the industry, it’s that they will realize that they should have found the experience they needed while they had the chance. I believe the thing that is going to set those two groups apart are the ones who are “in it to win it” and have the resume to back it up.

I have been keeping contact with professionals who are in my field or have experience with HR. They say that employers are looking for students who can manage their time, show that they can juggle different activities, and demonstrate expertise and possess good grades. Those students, with the sparkling resumes and strong skill sets, are the ones who will make it to the top.

So, what does this mean? It’s really up to you if you want to dedicate your life to the public relations industry. It takes a special kind of person who can handle loads of stress and still enjoy it. I know what you’re thinking, who enjoys stress? Well it gets to a point where someone like me, needs a little stress to function. I need to know I have three different deadlines in order to continue to be productive in my life.

Before you even think that public relations is overrated, think about the people who were given the talents to pursue this career. Unless you have been in the industry, you may not fully understand what it takes. Someone who lives and breathes PR has the integrity, motivation, and overall passion for this industry. If a PR graduate wants a career bad enough, they will go for it and they will find it. Public relations is about doing what you love and making those opportunities happen for yourself.

Leave a Reply

